Open MPI logo

Open MPI Development Mailing List Archives

  |   Home   |   Support   |   FAQ   |  

This web mail archive is frozen.

This page is part of a frozen web archive of this mailing list.

You can still navigate around this archive, but know that no new mails have been added to it since July of 2016.

Click here to be taken to the new web archives of this list; it includes all the mails that are in this frozen archive plus all new mails that have been sent to the list since it was migrated to the new archives.

Subject: [OMPI devel] Fwd: Reboot all the CREST server machines to apply the updated openssl lib
From: Jeff Squyres (jsquyres) (jsquyres_at_[hidden])
Date: 2014-04-09 09:15:09


FYI: IU has upgraded all servers to handle the heartbleed bug, but wants a full reboot tomorrow morning. This affects:

- MPI Forum SVN, Trac, and meetings.mpi-forum.org web hosting
- All non-github Open MPI hosting services

Begin forwarded message:

> From: Kim, DongInn
> Subject: Reboot all the CREST server machines to apply the updated openssl lib
> Date: April 9, 2014 9:03:16 AM EDT
>
> Dear All,
>
> I am advised to reboot all our CREST servers to fully apply the updated OpenSSL library. The new OpenSSL library was patched to RHEL 6 (RedHat Enterprise Linux 6) packages yesterday and they were installed on all the CREST server machines at around 10am Apr 8, 2014. (Note: all the CREST server machines are setup with RHEL6).
>
> The OpenSSL bug is serious and we needed to take immediate actions.
> http://heartbleed.com
>
> Even though our server seem to be safe with the new OpenSSL library now, I would like to make sure that there is no any leaking spots in our server machines by refreshing all the systems with the new OpenSSL library.
>
> I would like to setup a schedule to reboot all the CREST server machines at 9am tomorrow (Apr 10, 2014).
>
> Date: April 10, 2014
> Time:
> 6:00am-7:00am Pacific US time
> 7:00am-8:00am Mountain US time
> 8:00am-9:00am Central US time
> 9:00am-10:00am Eastern US time
> 1:00pm-2:00pm GMT
>
> Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns about rebooting our servers.
>
> Regards,
>
> --
> - DongInn
>

-- 
Jeff Squyres
jsquyres_at_[hidden]
For corporate legal information go to: http://www.cisco.com/web/about/doing_business/legal/cri/