Open MPI logo

Open MPI Development Mailing List Archives

  |   Home   |   Support   |   FAQ   |   all Development mailing list

Subject: [OMPI devel] Fwd: [all-osl-users] Outage of the OSL NFS server
From: Jeff Squyres (jsquyres_at_[hidden])
Date: 2010-08-18 14:35:55


This means that SVN and Trac will be out as well.

Begin forwarded message:

> From: DongInn Kim <dikim_at_[hidden]>
> Date: August 18, 2010 11:31:51 AM PDT
> To: all-osl-users_at_[hidden]
> Cc: Bruce Shing-Shong <shei_at_[hidden]>, Rob Henderson <robh_at_[hidden]>
> Subject: Re: [all-osl-users] Outage of the OSL NFS server
>
> We found that we need to load up a new kernel on all the OSL server machines and this is the perfect timing to reboot them to load up the new kernel.
>
> We would like to use the NFS outage time for rebooting the OSL server machines.
>
> The following servers would be rebooted:
> - sourcehaven
> - milliways
> - rontok
> - deep-thought
> - wowbagger
> - eddie
> - vogon
> - magrathea
> - gibson
>
> Please let me know if you have any concerns or questions about the reboot.
>
> Regards,
>
> On Aug 18, 2010, at 11:39 AM, DongInn Kim wrote:
>
>> There is the NFS server migration in the OSL.
>>
>> We will migrate /l/osl/* to the new server (deep-thought) on Aug 20 and we expect the following services to be unavailable for an hour.
>>
>> Date: Friday, Aug 20, 2010
>> TIme:
>> - 5:00am-6:00am Pacific US time
>> - 6:00am-7:00am Mountain US time
>> - 7:00am-8:00am Central US time
>> - 8:00am-9:00am Eastern US time
>> - 12:00pm-1:00pm GMT
>> Unavailable services:
>> - All the websites sitting on NFS.
>> http://www.open-mpi.org
>> http://www.osl.iu.edu
>> http://www.scalabletools.org
>> etc
>> - License servers
>> - Module features to load up or unload some specific versions of software
>>
>>
>> Due to the recent malfunction to the NFS server connection on milliways, we need to reboot milliways at the same time(8AM E.T.) and it will take about 10~15 mins.
>> During the reboot of milliways, the following services would not be available:
>> - web
>> - mysql/postgresql
>> - mail / archive
>> - mailman
>> - jabber
>>
>> Please let me know if you have any issues or question about the outage.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> -- DongInn Kim
>>
>
> -- DongInn Kim
>
>
>
>

-- 
Jeff Squyres
jsquyres_at_[hidden]
For corporate legal information go to:
http://www.cisco.com/web/about/doing_business/legal/cri/